Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award

The WIMC Indigenous Student Trailblazer Awards recognizes young indigenous women, in post-secondary studies, college, vocational training and university who are looking to integrate the minerals and metals industry. They have already shown their pioneering skills by getting involved in the industry at their student level, setting a path and inspiring other young indigenous women to join the industry ranks. They are also aware of their culture and traditions, and have identified ways to integrate both into their path forward. These young women are already blazing trails within their own communities, supporting others over and above the requirements of their studies. They inspire by their boldness and by being true agents of change. They are successful in integrating tradition and innovation, culture and technology.

WIMC Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award

The purpose of the award is to bring national recognition to Indigenous female students, in Mining in Canada. By honouring these young Indigenous women we hope to:

  • Draw attention to the inclusive role young Indigenous women have in the industry
  • Highlight the important of partnerships the young indigenous women have identified and have forged , to support the future of their communities as well as participate in the mining and minerals industry
  • Encourage young Indigenous women entering the industry by being strong role models.
  • Share success stories to inspire other young Indigenous women to enter into the industry, while being committed to their own individuality.

2020 Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award Nominations

The 2020 Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award nominations and requests for submission are now open.

Nomination criteria and information for 2020

2019 Indigenous Student Award Selection Committee

An independent “Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award Selection Committee” has been formed to shape the nomination and award selection process. The committee comprises of industry leaders whom we thank for generously donated time in the process:

  • Rachel Ambrus – 2018 Recipient of the Indigenous Student Trailblazer Award; Staff Engineer, ENGEO
  • Mathieu Boucher – Vice-Président, Relations avec les Autochtones, Hydro-Québec
  • Derek Chum – Vice-President, Indigenous Relations, Hydro One
  • Gerry Lafontaine – National Manager, Black Diamond Drilling Tools
  • Nalaine Morin – 2018 Recipient of the Indigenous Trailblazer Award; Principal, Arrowblade Consulting Services
  • Laureen Whyte – Principal and Senior Social Performance Consultant, Arbutus Consulting


Past Recipients:

  • 2018 Recipient – Rachel Ambrus