Student Trailblazer Award

The WIMC Student Trailblazer Awards recognizes young women, in post-secondary studies, college, vocational training and university who are looking to integrate the minerals and metals industry. They have already shown their pioneering skills by getting involved in the industry at their student level, setting a path and inspiring other young women to join the industry ranks. These young women are already blazing trails within their own communities, supporting others over and above the requirements of their studies. They inspire by their boldness and by being true agents of change. They are the future of the industry to insure its diversity and inclusion. They dare to be different.

WIMC Student Trailblazer Award

The purpose of the award is to bring national recognition to Young Women students in Mining in Canada. By honouring them, we hope to:

  • Draw attention to the decisive role education and young women play in the industry
  • Highlight the challenges these young women have overcome in achieving success in their students, but also impacting and encouraging others to enter into the field
  • Inspire by having begun to lead the way to the next steps and being unafraid to enter into an innovative, dynamic and exciting industry

2020 Trailblazer Award Nominations

The 2020 Student Trailblazer Award nominations and requests for submission are now open.

Nomination criteria and information for 2020

2019 Student Award Selection Committee

An independent “Student Trailblazer Award Selection Committee” has been formed to shape the nomination and award selection process. The committee comprises of industry leaders whom we thank for generously donated time in the process:

  • Jamal Amin – Geoscientist, Co-Founder and Managing Director of NextGen Geo
  • Réjean Carrier – President & CEO, Carboniq Inc.
  • Aimée Harper – 2018 recipient of the Student Trailblazer Award; Mining Engineer (EIT), Teck Resources
  • Mélanie LaRoche-Boisvert – Co-Founder of the Student Trailblazer Award; graduate student in Mining Engineering at McGill
  • Patrick McAndless – 2017 Recipient of the Rick Hutson Mentorship Award; mentor and coach for students and professionals in the mining industry
  • Christine Petch – 2018 Recipient of the Rick Hutson Mentorship Award; Principal Consultant, CPetch Consulting

2019 Student Trailblazer Award Nominees

  • Gabrielle Samek – Winner
  • Clare Butler
  • Romy Done
  • Karley Fugel
  • Sabrina Komann
  • Rim Kouider
  • Megan Magie
  • Magdalena Mroz
  • Katherine Raymond
  • Jennifer Samson
  • Catherine Thériault


Past Recipients:

  • 2019 Recipient – Grabrielle Samek
  • 2018 Recipient – Aimée Harper
  • 2017 Recipient – Sydney Miller