Trailblazer Award

For decades, women have contributed to the mining and minerals industry of Canada.  Through leadership, education and innovation, these women have opened doors for more women to participate in one of Canada’s most vital sectors. The Women in Mining Canada Trailblazer Award is the first national award in Canada to recognize the achievements of women who have made a significant contribution to Canadian mining and/or the inclusion of women in the industry.

The WIM Canada Trailblazer Award Program

The purpose of the award is to bring national recognition to women in mining in Canada.  By honouring these women we hope to:

  • Draw attention to the important role women have in the industry
  • Encourage young females entering the industry by presenting them with female role models
  • Share success stories from these women of varied backgrounds

An independent “Trailblazer Award Selection Committee” (TSC) has been formed to shape the nomination and award selection process.  The committee comprises of industry leaders whom we thank for generously donated time in this process.

2020 Trailblazer Award Nominations

The 2020 Trailblazer Award Nominations and requests for submissions will be published in the fall of 2019.

Nomination criteria and information from 2019 is here.

WIM Canada would like to thank the 2019 Trailblazer Award Selection Committee:

Jean Hutchinson, Ph.D., P.Eng., FEIC

Valerie Jackson

Pamela Schwann

Stephanie Marshall

Louise Corriveau, Ph.D.

Viorelia Guzun

Jennifer Day, Ph.D.

Anne Lewis

Mélanie Côté


Lynda Bloom

Marilyn Spink

Charmaine Gazdic

Lyn Anglin

Kate Bruce

MaryAnn Mihychuk

Victoria Yehl , P.Geo.

Andrea Clifford, P.Geo

Dawn Evans-Lamswood, M.Sc., P.Geo.