Trailblazer Award

The WIMC Trailblazer Awards recognize women in the industry who have been bold and builders, fraying a path for women who are keen to also participate in the minerals and metals business and related activities. Each and every one is a pioneer, spearheading change as they journey through their own careers. Whether they are recognized or not, they can either be considered as “disruptors”, or perhaps even “disturbers”. For all of our nominees, the “Status Quo” is simply not acceptable.

The WIM Canada Trailblazer Award Program

The purpose of the award is to bring national recognition to women in mining in Canada.  By honouring these women we hope to:

  • Draw attention to the important role women have in the industry
  • Encourage young females entering the industry by presenting them with female role models
  • Share success stories from these women of varied backgrounds

2020 Trailblazer Award Nominations

The 2020 Trailblazer Award Nominations and requests for submission are now open.

Nomination criteria and information for 2020

2019 Trailblazer Award Selection Committee

An independent “Trailblazer Award Selection Committee” has been formed to shape the nomination and award selection process. The committee comprises of industry leaders whom we thank for generously donated time in the process:

  • Heather Bruce-Veitch – Director Communications & External Relations, IOC; co-recipient of the 2018 Trailblazer Award
  • Peter Dey – Chairman, Paradigm Capital
  • Ginny Flood – Vice-President, Government Relations, Suncor Energy Inc.
  • Jean Hutchinson – Professor, Geological Sciences & Geological Engineering, Queen’s University
  • Keith Morrison – CEO, North American Nickel
  • Stewart Muir – Executive Director, Resource Works Society
  • Patti Tirschmann – former Vice-President Exploration, North American Nickel and co-recipient of the 2018 Trailblazer Award

2019 Trailblazer Award Nominees

  • Norah J. (“Nean”) Allman – Winner
  • Sophie Bergeron
  • Kate Carmack
  • Sherry Dunsworth
  • Pamela Ellemers
  • Sarah Hindle
  • Kari Lentowicz
  • Susan Mitchell
  • Rosie Moore
  • Breeanne Parisien
  • Kim Proctor
  • Amélie Rouleau

Past Recipients