The Board of Directors

Meet our people

Our Board of Directors is pleased to focus on important initiatives to further diversity and inclusion in the mining industry.

Social norms, cultural stereotypes, power and privilege in organizations provide the “invisible foundation” for organizational decisions about which jobs and opportunities are suitable for certain types of workers.

The 2022 Board of Directors

Kevin D'Souza

Kevin is a recognized professional and ESG thought leader with nearly three decades of direct experience in responsible mining and is currently the Chief Sustainability Officer for Resource Capital Funds. He has worked his entire career in the mining industry having begun as an operational mining engineer in West Africa after graduating from the Royal School of Mines in London in England. He has worked in operational, managerial, and executive leadership roles that range from remote exploration camps, mine construction sites, operational mines, and closure sites, to Corporate and Ministerial offices. He has worked directly for or consulted with, numerous mining companies including many of the industry’s majors such as Barrick Gold, AngloGold Ashanti, Gold Fields, Rio Tinto, BHP Billiton, Kinross, and De Beers, and was most recently the VP of Security, Sustainability & Environment for Centerra Gold. Kevin has been fortunate to have amassed direct mining experience in over fifty countries worldwide working with closely remote rural communities and indigenous groups. To complement the private sector work he has also worked extensively on mining-related human rights and sustainable development programs for some major NGOs and with International Funding Institutions (IFIs) supporting emerging market Governments on macro-level mining policy reform and mining-related community development programs (including the World Bank, IFC, ILO, USAID, and the UK’s DFID). He is also a committee member of the Black North Initiative (BNI) and a mentor on the International Women in Mining (IWiM) mentoring program.

Past Directors

  • Diane Arcand
  • Mafalda Arias
  • Douglas Bolton
  • Anne-Marie Bosse
  • Teri Brigden
  • Kathy Chapman
  • Heather Cheeseman
  • Curtis Clarke
  • Jamile Cruz
  • Kristin Cuddington
  • Heather Ednie
  • Stacey Ferguson
  • Resa Furey
  • Charmaine Gazdic
  • Siri C. Genik
  • Catherine Gignac
  • Tara Gilfillan
  • Leanne Hall
  • Mary Louise Hall
  • Susie Henderson
  • Alex Hood
  • Rick Hutson
  • Nancy Komperdo
  • Jennifer Koury
  • Cynthia La Sueur-Aquin
  • Anne Lewis
  • Jean Lucas
  • Sharon McLeod
  • Angelina Mehta
  • MaryAnn Mihychuk
  • Angelica Mirza
  • Marie-Francine Poitras
  • Charles Riopel
  • Catharine Shaw
  • Kelly Stark-Anderson
  • Tabetha Stirret
  • Melanie Sturk
  • Karen Trenton
  • Marie-Hélène Turgeon